WHAT ARE THE RIGHTS OF A

MISSOURI CRIME VICTIM?

RSMo 595.209

1. Be present at all criminal justice proceedings
at which the defendant has such right.

2. Beinformed and heard at guilty pleas, bail
hearings, sentencings, probation revocation
hearings and parole hearings.

3. Beinformed of trials and preliminary hearings.

4. Restitution.

5. The speedy disposition and appellate review
of cases.

6. Reasonable protection from the defendant or
any person acting on behalf of the defendant.

7. Information concerning the release, escape,
recapture or death of the accused while in
custody or confinement.

8. Information about how the criminal justice
system works, the rights and availability of
services and information about the crime.

RESOURCES FOR CRIME VICTIMS

Missouri Child Abuse & Neglect Hotline
800-392-3738

MO Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence
(573) 634-4161

Missouri Dept. of Corrections Victim Services
(573)526-6516

Victims of Impaired Drivers (V.O.l.D.)
888-773-1800

Stop Human Trafficking
888-3737-888

Missouri Elder Abuse Hotline
800-392-0210

Courage to Report
866-748-7047

HOW TO REQUEST AN
APPLICATION FOR ASSISTANCE

Request an application by phone, email or
in writing:
Missouri Department of Public Safety
Crime Victims’ Compensation
P.O. Box 1589
Jefferson City, MO 65102-1589

Phone: (573) 526-6006
Email: CVC@dps.mo.gov
Fax: (573) 526-4940

The application and additional information is
available at:

www.dps.mo.gov/dir/programs/cvc

MANS

VICTIM X AUTONIATED NOTIFICATION SYSTEM

MO Automated Victim Notification System
(MOVANS)

MOVANS is an automated victim notification system
that notifies registered users of changes in an
offender’s incarceration, court status or the status
of a protection order. Registrants can choose to
receive notifications by phone, text, and email.

For more information visit:
Toll Free: 866-566-8267
Phone: (573) 526-1929
Email: cvsu@dps.mo.gov
https://dps.mo.gov/dir/programs/cvsu/movans.php

CRIME VICTIMS
COMPENSATION

ASSISTANCE FOR
VICTIMS OF
VIOLENT CRIME

A program of the
Missouri Department of Public Safety



www.dps.mo.gov/dir/programs/cvc
mailto:CVC@dps.mo.gov

If you or a family member have sustained physical,
emotional, or mental harm or trauma resulting from
certain crimes you may be eligible for financial
assistance from the Crime Victims’ Compensation
Program (CVC).

Victims of crime or eligible family members can apply

for financial assistance to help with expenses directly

related to the crime. Allowable expenses may include

reasonable medical, counseling, funeral expenses, lost
wages, and loss of support.

It is NOT required that the suspect is arrested, in
custody of law enforcement or brought to trial to apply.

Please Note
Eligibility cannot be determined without
a completed application.

BENEFIT PAYMENTS

The maximum benefit per crime is $25,000.

The following crime related expenses may
be covered by the program:

e Medical expenses, including prescriptions
e Counseling

* Funeral expenses (maximum of $5,000.00)
e Lostwages (up to $400 per week)

e Loss of support

NOTE: For lost wages and loss of support the victim
must be gainfully employed at the time of the crime.

Supporting documentation will be
requested for application processing
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ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

The following are minimum requirements
that must be met:

Crime Must Have Occurred In Missouri
If the crime occurred in another state, application must be
made in that state

Filing Deadline
Application must be filed within 2 years from the date of
the crime or the discovery of the crime

Crime Must Be Reported to Proper Authorities
For the purposes of CVC, law enforcement and
prosecuting attorneys are the proper authorities. In cases
of domestic violence, sexual offenses, human trafficking or
stalking, other court documents may be accepted. This
may include securing an order of protection or sexual
assault forensic exam documentation.

Cooperation with Law Enforcement and CVC
Victim must fully cooperate in law enforcement investigation
and with the CVC program.

No Contributory Conduct
Victim MUST NOT have contributed to their injuries or
engaged in provocation/enticement. Victim must not have
been in commission of any crime.

Eligible Family Members
For a deceased victim, the claimant must be an eligible
family member: per RSMo 595.010.1 (14): spouse, parent,
grandparent, step-parent, child, grandchild, brother, sister,
half-brother, half-sister, adopted children of parent or
spouse’s parent.

NOTE: If an individual pays toward funeral expenses and
the individual does not meet the statutory definition of a
family member, that individual will not be
reimbursed/eligible to file claim.

Example: If the aunt of the victim pays $2,000 toward
the funeral bill and receives a receipt; the aunt is not eligible
for reimbursement because she does not meet the statutory
definition of a family member.

REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION THAT WILL

ASSIST IN PROCESSING YOUR CLAIM

Depending on the type of crime and the
benefits requested, the victim or claimant will
be required to submit information to support:

e Crime-related medical, counseling, and funeral
bills and paid receipts

e Death certificate for funeral expenses or loss of
support

e Birth certificates for each minor child if seeking

loss of support for children

Employment information

Insurance information

e Other as requested from CVC

PAYER OF LAST RESORT

CVC is the PAYER OF LAST RESORT. Expenses that are paid
or eligible to be paid from other sources such as:
health insurance, Medicaid, Workers’ Compensation, crowd-
sourced funds and Medicare may not be compensated.
Employer paid leave programs are also considered a
collateral source when applying for work loss.

WHAT CVC CANNOT PAY

Pain and suffering

Personal Property
Rent/Mortgage/Utilities
Food/Clothing Costs

Tuition Reimbursement

Vehicle Damage

Relocation Costs
Homeopathic/Alternative Treatment

Please Note
This brochure is a summary of Missouri's Crime
Victims’ Compensation Program. Statutes governing
this program may be found in Chapter 595 of the
Revised Statutes of Missouri.
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