
Missouri  Department  of  Publ ic  Safety  January 15, 2012 

  

CVC JOURNAL OF HOPE    

WELCOME READERS 
Susan A. Sudduth, Program Manager 
 

Born Marguerite Annie Johnson 83 years ago in St. 
Louis, Missouri, Dr. Maya Angelou has been called 
America’s “Renaissance” woman and is considered one 
of the  world’s contemporary literary giants. As strong 
a woman as she is, both in spirit and splendor, Dr. An-
gelou has something in common with many of the peo-
ple assisted by the Missouri Crime Victims’ Compensa-
tion Program.  She is a survivor...yes, a survivor of 
child sexual molestation.  

Throughout her colorful life, she has enlightened and 
inspired many with her words...words resonating resil-
ience, growth, strength, compassion and love. Dr. An-
gelou wrote, “You may encounter many defeats, but 
you must not be defeated. In fact it may be necessary to 
encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, 
what you can rise from, how you can still come out of 
it.”  
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With those beautiful words, I welcome this New Year 
and look forward to our staff assisting victims in 
hopes of seeing them become like the phoenix rising 
from the ashes to rebuke the caldron of violence.  

Highlights in this issue of CVC Journal of Hope include 
emergency rules for the SAFE Program, the importance 
of filing police reports and victim’s address changes. If 
you have any questions regarding either the Crime Vic-
tims’ Compensation Program or Sexual Assault Forensic 
Examination Program, feel free to call our office at 573-
526-6006, E-mail us cvc@dps.mo.gov or visit the Depart-
ment of Public Safety’s  website at www.dps.mo.gov.  

Missouri law mandates that appropriate medical 
providers bill the Department of Public Safety for 
reasonable costs associated with the forensic exam 
performed on both adult and child sexual assault 
victims. 
 
However, during FY 2011, the funds allocated for the 
SAFE Program were insufficient to pay for the in-
coming SAFE exam claims. As a result, there were no 
funds available for payments to appropriate medical 
providers until the General Assembly approved and 
the Governor signed a supplemental appropriation 
in the amount of $752,000 to allow the Department to 
pay pending claims for the remainder of FY 2011. 
 
The Department held meetings on May 25, 2011, 
June 28, 2011, August 30, 2011 and October 21, 2011  
 

with those hospitals, medical providers, and the 
child advocacy centers that submit SAFE exam bills 
for payment. During the course of receiving feed-
back from these meetings, the rule language was re-
vised multiple times to address concerns raised by 
the interested parties. As a result of this tedious 
stakeholder process, the Department was not able to 
file the Emergency Rule when the legislation author-
izing rulemaking authority took effect on August 28, 
2011. 
 
To avoid a similar funding shortfall during FY 2012, 
which would likely lead to another freeze in pay-
ments to appropriate medical providers, this new 
rule sets caps on payments for each SAFE exam. 
 
     See SAFE Rules, page 2 
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The Department of Public Safety believes the following Emergency Rule is critical for the continued operation of 
the SAFE Program and fair to all interest parties. This rule was filed on December 7, 2011, and became effective 
December 17, 2011. Upon its expiration on June 13, 2012, the rules and regulations become permanent. 
 

Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
Division 30—OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR 

Chapter 595.220—Forensic Examinations for Sexual Assault 
 

EMERGENCY RULE 
 

11 CSR 30-12.010 Payments for Sexual Assault Forensic Examinations 
 
PURPOSE:  This proposed rule sets out the reporting and billing procedures for appropriate medical providers who conduct 
sexual assault forensic examinations, commonly known as SAFE exams.  This rule sets out the requirements for the appropri-
ate medical provider in submitting a SAFE exam claim to the Department of Public Safety for payment.  This rule also estab-
lishes the criteria by which SAFE exam expenses are paid and sets out the maximum payments for SAFE exams performed at 
an emergency room and the maximum payments for SAFE exams performed at a clinic. 
 
(1) For purposes of this section, the following terms mean: 
 
 (A)  “Appropriate medical provider”, any licensed nurse, physician, or physician assistant, and any institu-
         tion employing licensed nurses, physicians or physician assistants, provided that such licensed pro- 
         fessionals are the only persons at such institution to perform tasks under the provisions of this section; 
 
 (B)  “Evidentiary collection kit”, a kit used during a forensic examination that includes materials necessary 
        for appropriate medical providers to gather evidence in accordance with the forms and procedures de-
        veloped by the attorney general for forensic examinations; 
 
 (C)  “Forensic examination” or “SAFE exam”, an examination performed by an appropriate medical pro-
          vider on a victim of an alleged sexual offense to gather evidence for the evidentiary collection kit or 
          using other collection procedures developed for victims who are minors; 
 
 (D)  “Medical treatment”, the treatment of all injuries and health concerns resulting directly from a          
         patient’s sexual assault or victimization; 
 
 (E)  “Laboratory fees”, those laboratory fees associated with a forensic examination of a child age 13 or un-
         der or those laboratory fees associated with lab tests which the appropriate medical provider deems 
         necessary to determine whether the victim had been drugged. 
 
(2) The victim or the victim’s parent or guardian or the requesting agency shall consent in writing to the examina-

tion. 
 
(3) Claims for payment of forensic examination expenses shall be submitted to the Missouri Department of Public 

Safety, Sexual Assault Forensic Examination (SAFE) Program, PO Box 1589, Jefferson City, MO  65102. 
 
 
           See SAFE Rules, page 3 



SAFE Rules 
continued from page 2  
 
(4) Claims shall be made on the Sexual Assault Forensic Examination Program Report form approved by the Missouri 

Attorney General. The appropriate medical provider must ensure that all lines of the  report form are completely 
and legibly filled out. The appropriate medical provider shall sign and date the report. If the report is incomplete, 
unsigned or not dated the claim may be denied. 

 
(5) To qualify for payment, all claims shall include the Sexual Assault Forensic Examination Program Report, the Sexual 

Assault Forensic Examination Checklist and an itemized billing statement. 
 
(6) For billing purposes, all appropriate charges for the sexual assault forensic examination shall be itemized with each 

billable procedure, service, or supply described, including the accompanying International Classification of Disease 
(ICD-9) and Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) code(s). Written explanation and reasoning may be required to 
justify certain codes. 

 
(7)  Payment shall not exceed 
 
 (A) $900 for forensic exams performed in an emergency room, including all costs associated with the facility and 
        the appropriate medical provider fee. Payment shall not exceed: 
 
   1. Five-hundred and forty dollars ($540) for the emergency room fee if submitted separately; and 
  2. Three-hundred and sixty dollars ($360) for the appropriate medical provider fee if submitted sepa-
      rately. 
 
 (B) Six-hundred and fifty dollars ($650) for forensic exams performed in a clinic, including all costs associated 
       with the facility and the appropriate medical provider. When the exam is performed by a physician, payment                                      
       shall not exceed: 
 
  1. Two-hundred and ninety dollars ($290) for the clinic fee if submitted separately; and 
  2. Three-hundred and sixty dollars ($360) for the appropriate medical provider fee if submitted sepa-
      rately. 
 
 When the exam is performed in a clinic by an appropriate medical provider other than a physician, payment 
 shall not exceed: 
  
  1. Three-hundred and ninety dollars ($390) for the clinic fee if submitted separately; and 
  2. Two-hundred and sixty dollars ($260) for the appropriate medical provider fee if submitted sepa-
       rately. 
 
 (C) Two-hundred dollars ($200) for any laboratory fees associated with the forensic examination, whether the 
        forensic examination is conducted at an emergency room or clinic. 
 
The billing statement must include an itemization of the charges incurred while conducting the forensic examination, 
including, if applicable, the itemized laboratory fees. 
 
(8) For the purposes of billing the Sexual Assault Forensic Examination Program, claims shall not include charges for         

medical procedures that are not part of the SAFE exam. The SAFE Program shall not pay for any portions of the 
itemized bill that are not part of the SAFE exam. The SAFE Program shall not pay for any laboratory fees associated 
with a SAFE exam except for qualified laboratory fees. 

 
           See SAFE Rules, page 4 



  
continued from page 3 

 

(9) All claims for sexual assault forensic examination charges must be submitted to the department within ninety (90) 
days from the date of the forensic examination. 

(10)  Only one (1) forensic examination per victim per sexual offense may be reimbursed. 

(11)  For a forensic examination to be eligible for reimbursement by the SAFE Program: 

 (A) the victim of the alleged sexual offense must be a Missouri resident; or 

 (B)  the alleged sexual offense must have occurred in Missouri. 

(12) The department, at its discretion, may require additional information regarding the forensic examination for audit-
ing purposes. 

AUTHORITY: section 595.220, RSMo Supp. 2011. Emergency rule filed on December 7, 2011, effective December 17, 2011, expires 
June 13, 2012.  This emergency rule and a proposed rule, which covers the same material, will be published in the January 17, 2012 
issue of the Missouri Register. 

 
“I can’t thank you all enough for helping 

me through this. I am very grateful for all 

your help, as it is the only reason I am able 

to make it through it all.” — Joe F. 

“I wanted to send a thank you to victims’ compensation and 

thank everyone involved that helped me with my son’s funeral 

expenses. I am very grateful for the help you have given me, my 

daughter and sister. I do appreciate your help.” — Linda L. 

In order to qualify for compensation benefits, Mis-
souri law requires that a victim report the crime to 
law enforcement within 48 hours of the incident 
unless there is good cause or in cases involving per-
sons under 18, the crime must be reported within 48 
hours of discovery. A victim continually residing in a 
certified domestic violence shelter for up to five (5) 
days from the crime date may constitute good cause 
for delay in reporting the crime. 
 
Filing a report does several things. It officially docu-
ments that violence or the threat of violence was per-
petrated against an individual. It also indicates 
whether an alleged offender was identified by the vic-
tim or by any witnesses, and whether the victim’s ac-
tions contributed to their injuries. 
 
A commonly asked question is whether there has to 
be a successful prosecution in order to file or receive 
compensation. The answer is no. Victims are encour-

aged to cooperate with the prosecution where there is 
a known alleged offender; however, there may be in-
stances where a case does not go to court because the 
prosecutor finds there is insufficient evidence for a 
successful prosecution. Other times the victim may 
not be able to identify the person who victimized 
them. For instance, the man who was beaten in an al-
ley and left for dead or the child who is caught in the 
cross hairs of a drive by shooting while getting off a 
school bus. The offender(s) cannot be identified; how-
ever, a police report is made because a crime was 
committed. 
 
Deciding to report a crime to law enforcement several 
weeks after being victimized because of mounting 
medical bills is not an acceptable reason to file a re-
port; and the Program will not recognize that as a 
good cause for delaying the 48-hour rule. 
 

 

THE IMPORTANCE OF FILING A POLICE REPORT  



VICTIM’S CHANGE OF ADDRESS   
 

Being able to locate a victim or claimant is key when processing claims. When filing an application 
for compensation, victims/claimants have a responsibility to cooperate with our Program, which 
includes informing Program staff of address changes. This way staff can effectively communicate 
via correspondence when requesting additional information or offering to pay crime related lost 
wages, loss of support, medical, counseling or funeral expenses. 
 
A change of address must be submitted to the Program in writing along with the victim’s/
claimant’s signature. Staff then matches the signature on the address change with the signature on 
the back page of the application on file. Matching signatures ensures that the person who sent in the 
notification is indeed the person who has filed the application. Address changes are never accepted 
over the phone. Note that the claim will be denied if our office is unable to locate the victim by mail. 

 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS  
 

 

Q: Can the attorney assisting a victim/claimant with a crime victim’s compensation claim sign an 
offer of settlement letter?  

A: No. The victim must sign the offer of settlement letter. When the Program is ready to pay on a 
claim, staff will send an offer letter to the attorney on record. The attorney should have the vic-
tim/claimant sign the letter and return it so that checks can be requisitioned and the appropriate 
providers paid. 

 
Q: Who is authorized to complete and sign the disability statement when a victim, who was gain-

fully employed at the time of the crime, applies for lost wages? 
A: The disability statement must be completed and signed by the treating physician; the physician 

who treated the victim at the time of injury or the specialist who is treating or who has treated 
the patient for the crime-related injury. The Program will not consider wage loss if the form is 
signed by a nurse, a physician’s assistant, a chiropractor, a therapist (i.e. counselors, psycholo-
gists, etc), the employer or the victim. 

 
Q: Why must the victim/claimant sign the back page of the Crime Victim’s Compensation applica-

tion? 
A: The back page of the application must be signed because it serves as an authorization for release 

of information when staff conducts their investigation and, it also serves as an assignment of 
subrogation rights in the event the claim is awarded. The Program also compares the signature 
on the application to the signature on the signed offer of settlement letter before requisitioning 
checks for payment to verify that the person signing the offer letter is in fact the victim/claimant 
who filed the application. 

 
 E-mail your questions about the CVC Program or the SAFE Program to cvc@dps.mo.gov. 


