Title 11–Department of Public Safety Division 30 Office of the Director Chapter 16 Victims of Crime Act Grants

11 CSR 30-16.020 Appeals Procedure and Time limits for Victims of Crime Act Grant Applications

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes procedures for applicants to protest the department's competitive Request for Proposal solicitation process and/or appeal a department decision regarding the award of grant(s), as a result of a competitive Request for Proposal process.

- (1) Appeals process.
- (A) Any applicant for VOCA funds that is aggrieved by any adverse decision regarding the award or denial of a grant application, in whole or in part, may appeal the decision of the department. Such appeal must be filed with the department director, or her or his designee, in writing not more than ten (10) business days from the date of notification of funding award or denial.
- (B) The appeal shall concisely state the grounds for the appeal, detailing what scoring or element of the evaluation and subsequent award determination the applicant believes was incorrect, and any supplementary documentation will be considered only insofar as it bears on the accuracy of a factual determination used in denying an application in part or in whole.
- (C) The director or his or her designee shall review the appeal together with the original application, the final written reviews and evaluation scores, and all supplementary documentation provided in the appeal by the applicant, and shall render a decision affirming the original award or reversing the appealed funding decision in whole or in part.
- (D) All decisions on appeals made by the director, or his or her designee, shall be rendered within ten (10) working days of the receipt of the appeal and shall be transmitted in writing to the applicant through the department's electronic grant management system.
- (E) The director, or his or her designee, shall provide a written explanation of the department's decision to an applicant relative to that applicant's appeal that shall provide specific information supporting the department's decision.

(2) The Department of Public Safety may implement such policies as, within its discretion, are necessary to implement the administration of these rules.

AUTHORITY; section 650.310.4, RSMo 2016. Original Rule filed December 20,2016.

PUBLIC COST: The proposed rule will not cost state agencies or political subdivisions more than five-hundred dollars (\$500.00) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: The proposed rule will not cost private entities more than five-hundred dollars (\$500.00) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri Department of Public Safety, P.O.Box 749, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty(30) days after publication of this notice in the **Missouri Register**. No public hearing is scheduled.