

OF WIOLENT BRIME

You may be eligible to receive compensation for loss of income, support, funeral expenses, and reasonable medical, drug, and counseling expenses up to \$25,000.

To be eligible, a person must have sustained personal bodily injury as a victim of a violent crime, or as a result of trying to prevent a violent crime. Surviving spouses and dependents or family members who pay medical or burial expenses incurred as the direct result of the crime may also be eligible. In order for the victim to receive compensation:

- The injury must have occurred in Missouri. A crime shall also include an act of terrorism, as defined in 18 U.S.C. Section 2331, which has been committed outside of the United States against a resident of Missouri;
- The incident must have been reported to the proper law enforcement agency within 48 hours;
- The victim must cooperate with law enforcement officials in their investigation and prosecution;
- A claim must be filed within two years of the incident; and
- A claim may be filed for out-of-pocket expenses only.

For more information contact your local prosecuting attorney's office, law enforcement agency, hospital or call the Crime Victims' Compensation Office at 1-800-347-6881.