Crime Victims' Compensation (CVC) Program— PROGRAM BULLETIN (01/04/2024)

Administered by the Missouri Department of Public Safety, Office for Victims of Crime



NEW CRIME-RELATED LOSSES ARE ELIGIBLE FOR REIMBURSEMENT Applicable only to crimes occurring on or after October 30, 2021

OVERVIEW

To be eligible for reimbursement, the losses **MUST BE** the result of crime in Missouri which involves the application of force or violence or the threat of force or violence by the offender upon the victim.

NEW ELIGIBLE COSTS

FOR REIMBURSEMENT PURPOSES ONLY

REQUIRED

CVC Application must be submitted to CVC within 2 years of the crime date

> Itemized Bills & Paid Receipts

INELIGIBLE

Security Systems Vehicles Phones Rent/Mortgage Tuition Relocation Pain & Suffering Lost earnings or support by claimant as a result of participating in the criminal justice process, such as meeting with law enforcement or participating in court proceedings.

Maximum reimbursement rate of \$400/week, \$80/day or \$10/hour

Temporary lodging may be reimbursed -

- When claimant feels fear to return to claimant's residence
- For actual expenses up to 14 days at locations open to general public that charge for accommodation
- Maximum reimbursement paid at <u>CONUS per diem rates</u>

Replacement costs for clothing and bedding may be reimbursed -

- Must be seized and held as evidence according to law enforcement report
- Maximum overall reimbursement limit of \$300

Replacement or repair of locks at the victim's residence may be reimbursed -

- Includes hardware and installation
- Maximum overall reimbursement limit of \$200

Dependent care may be reimbursed -

- To allow victims to participate in criminal justice activities or secure medical treatment and rehabilitation services
- Only if such care would not have been incurred but for the compensable crime
- Dependent care provider must be licensed or registered with DHSS or DSS
- Maximum overall reimbursement limit of \$200

For more information please visit Crime Victims' Compensation (CVC) Program website at <u>https://dps.mo.gov/dir/programs/cvc/</u> or call 573-526-6006 or 1-800-347-6881 or email cvc@dps.mo.gov.