A Navigation Guide
for Hospitals

The Missouri Department of Public Safety
OFFICE FOR VICTIMS OF CRIME

Crime Victims’ Compensation Program
Sexual Assault and Child Physical Abuse Forensic Exam Programs




Crime Victims’ Compensation (CVC)

&= ), application program for victims

THESE PROGRAMS ARE NOT THE SAME

—)

Sexual Assault Forensic Examination Program (SAFE)
Child Physical Abuse Forensic Examination Program (CPAFE)

Reimbursement programs for providers



Who can apply
for CVC?

Any person injured due
to a violent crime.



A

Who can request
reimbursement from
SAFE or CPAFE?

Hospitals
Child Advocacy Centers
Medical Professionals



The Hospital’s Role in the CVC

Application Process

e Ensure victims of violent crime are provided with a brochure
about Crime Victims” Compensation.

e Hospital staff should not complete the CVC application on
behalf of the victim.

e Hospital staff should not sign the CVC application for the victim.

e |f victim completes application on-site, ensure the victim affixes
their own signature to the application.




Why? We are just
helping!

* The application is personal, requires the
victim’s signature and authorizes CVC to
contact them.

* If completed and signed by hospital
staff, the application will be denied.

* |tis the victim’s choice to apply.



CVC is a payer of last resort for

crime-related medical expenses.

e Any insurance available to the patient, such as health insurance, Medicaid or
Medicare is primary.

e The hospital should not bill CVC directly.

e The victim/patient may include their itemized bill with their CVC application.

e Only one CVC application is needed. Crime-related bills may be submitted by the
victim/patient at any time.

e |If the victim’s CVC application is approved, charges applied to co-pays and
deductibles are eligible.



The SAFE Program is the primary payer
for forensic exam expenses.

* Service providers are responsible for submitting claims for reimbursement
directly to the SAFE Program within 90 days of the patient’s forensic exam.

* Forensic exam charges not paid by the SAFE Program may be billed to the
patient’s insurance.

* The patient MUST NOT be billed for any forensic exam charges.
* The patient may be billed for medical treatment of any injuries.

* The patient may be eligible for benefits from CVC. Service providers are
encouraged to notify the patient about how to contact CVC.

* CVCisseparate and apart from SAFE.



SAFE Examination Charges

Forensic exam charges should be clearly and distinctly separated
from medical charges on any billing statement submitted to the SAFE Program.

Per Missouri statute, victim/patients receiving a forensic exam to gather evidence of a sexual assault
should not be billed for any forensic exam charges.

What to Bill Patient’s Health Care

Forensic exam charges may be billed to the The patient’s health insurance is primary for
patient’s health insurance, but their health charges resulting from medical treatment of
insurance is secondary. injuries sustained during the sexual assault.

What May Be Billed to Patient

The patient may ONLY be billed for medical treatment charges not covered by their health insurance.




SAFE Program - Eligible Forensic Lab Tests

Adults (age 14+ years)

Children (age 0-13 years)

Drug screen tests
Only if suspected to be drug-facilitated
Must be indicated on checklist

STD, HIV, pregnancy & drug screen tests




Drug Screen Tests for Adults
(age 14+ years)

Missouri Department of Public Safety, Office for Victims of Crime
SEXUAL ASSAULT FORENSIC EXAMINATION (SAFE) PROGRAM CHECKLIST (revised 07-2023)

THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED AND ACCOMPANY THE SAFE REIMBURSEMENT CLAIM FORM

Professional Services (check all that apply)

Forensic examination service provided by:
0 Physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice nurse
[ Forensically trained SAFE-CARE Provider

0 Appropriate medical provider such as a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) and/or with the assistance of a
[ SAFE Tele-SANE Provider

Brief summary of the sexual assault; [collected to help expedite processing)

Suspected drug-facilitated assault? [ No Yes Ifyes,
[ Consent obtained for drug screening O Collected urine O Collected blood

THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED FOR REIMBURSEMENT




CLAIM FORMS AVAILABLE AT
dps.mo.gov/dir/programs/cvc/forms

The completed SAFE form and itemized bill must be
submitted within 90 days of the patient’s forensic exam.

Submit claim and bill as a .pdf document to:

SAFE-CPAFE@dps.mo.gov




Thank you!

Office for Victims of Crime
Phone: (573) 526-6006

CVC email: cvc@dps.mo.qgov

SAFE-CPAFE email: safe-cpafe@dps.mo.gov



mailto:cvc@dps.mo.gov
mailto:safe-cpafe@dps.mo.gov
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