Crime Victims' Compensation (CVC) & Sexual Assault Forensic Examination (SAFE) Programs SEXUAL ASSAULT SURVIVOR BULLETIN (3/2023)

Administered by the Missouri Department of Public Safety, Office for Victims of Crime

Both CVC & SAFE offer assistance to sexual assault survivors.

Each program is distinctly different and operate separate and apart from one another.

Crime Victims' Compensation (CVC)

CVC-Victim/Survivor Based. Must submit an application to determine eligibility. A survivor's participation in a SAFE Exam does not automatically equate to eligibility for assistance from CVC, all other CVC eligibility requirements must be met.

CVC assists eligible individuals who sustained physical, emotional, or mental harm or trauma as a result of violent crime.

The individual is responsible for submitting an application for assistance to the CVC program.

Sexual Assault Forensic Examination (SAFE)

SAFE-Provider Based. Only a medical provider can submit a request for reimbursement. Medical expenses incurred related to a sexual assault may be charged to the survivor. A CVC application must be submitted to determine eligibility for other crime related expenses.

SAFE reimburses medical providers for the cost of performing a forensic exam and any evidence collection during the exam, including anonymous exams.

The medical provider is responsible for submitting a claim for reimbursement to the SAFE program.

BASIC ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

- Application must be received within two (2) years of the date of the crime or discovery of the crime;
- Crime must have occurred in Missouri;
- Crime must be reported to the proper authorities; Proper authorities includes:
 - Law enforcement agencies, or
 - Receiving a sexual assault forensic exam, or
 - Securing an order of protection;
- Survivor cooperation with proper authorities, including CVC, however an arrest or conviction is <u>not</u> required.

- Survivor must consent in writing to a sexual assault forensic exam:
- Forensic exam must be performed by an appropriate medical provider;
- Sexual offense must have occurred in Missouri or survivor is a Missouri resident;
- Claim for reimbursement must be received within 90 days of the forensic exam;
- Ideally a forensic exam includes a completed sexual assault kit, however it is not required.

ALLOWABLE COSTS

Crime related losses including -

- Medical, dental and counseling expenses
- Lost wages if gainfully employed at time of crime
- Temporary lodging, up to 14 consecutive days, if survivor fears returning to their residence
- Replacement of clothing and bedding seized as evidence
- Replacement or repair of locks at survivor's residence
- Dependent care to allow survivor to participate in criminal justice activities or secure medical treatment and rehabilitation services

SAFE examination charges are limited to:

- Medical provider facility expenses
- Medical provider professional expenses
- Certain lab expenses

Per Missouri statute section <u>595.220.6 RSMo</u>, the survivor should *NOT* be billed for any forensic exam charges; however, may be billed for medical treatment charges.

Additional requirements apply to children 0-13 years. Contact SAFE for more information.

For more information, please visit the

Office for Victims' of Crime website at

https://dps.mo.gov/dir/programs/cvc/ or call

573-526-6006 or 1-800-347-6881 or email cvc@dps.mo.gov.