The Medal of Valor is Missouri's highest award recognizing public safety officers who exhibit exceptional courage, extraordinary decisiveness and presence of mind, and unusual swiftness of action, regardless of his or her personal safety, in the attempt to save or protect human life. The Medal of Valor is awarded annually by Missouri's Governor after recommendations are submitted by the Medal of Valor Review Board.

Medal of Valor recipients must be persons serving a public agency, with or without compensation, as a firefighter, law enforcement officer or emergency personnel. State and local corrections, court and civil defense officers are also eligible.

The Medal of Valor was created in 2004 by Senate Bill 972 during the 92nd General Assembly. The first medals were awarded for acts of bravery performed during 2007.

Medal of Valor is Missouri’s highest award for public safety officers

Medal of Valor is Missouri’s highest award for public safety officers.

Medal of Valor Ceremonies

2015 Ceremony Slideshow | Video

2014 Ceremony Slideshow | Video

2013 Ceremony Slideshow | Video

2012 Ceremony Slideshow | Video

2011 Ceremony Slideshow | Video

2010 Ceremony Slideshow

2009 Ceremony Slideshow | Video

2008 Ceremony Slideshow