The POST Commission approved the new training standards for Missouri peace officers on Dec. 1, 2015. It’s important to note that the new training standards, including 24 hours of annual continuing education training, will begin in 2017. There are no changes for individual officers during 2016. As required by state statute, the administrative rules incorporating the new training standards were filed with the Missouri Secretary of State on Dec. 4, 2015 and were effective as of May 30, 2016. Those changes are outlined below.

  • As with previous continuing education reporting periods, peace officers licensed prior to January 1, 2015 must obtain 48 hours of continuing law enforcement education by December 31, 2017, with at least 24 of these 48 hours coming from an "Approved Provider" of training. Of these 48 hours, officers must obtain a minimum of:
    • 4 hours in Legal Studies.
    • 4 hours in Technical Studies.
    • 4 hours in Interpersonal Perspectives.
    • 4 hours of Skill Development in the area of Firearms.
    • 32 hours of Electives (Any of the above-listed core curricula areas.)
    • 3 hours of Racial Profiling training, which typically fits within the Interpersonal Perspectives block of instruction. Racial Profiling training is part of the required 48 hours, not in addition to it.
  • Officers licensed prior to January 1, 2015 must complete at least 24 of their required 48 hours in calendar year 2017, which is described in detail below.
  • Beginning January 1, 2017, we are going to an annual reporting requirement for continuing law enforcement education. Peace officers licensed prior to January 1, 2017, to include those officers licensed prior to January 1, 2015, must obtain 24 hours of continuing education within calendar year 2017, with at least 8 of these 24 hours coming from an "Approved Provider" of training. Of these 24 hours, officers must obtain a minimum of:
    • 2 hours in Legal Studies.
    • 2 hours in Technical Studies.
    • 2 hours in Interpersonal Perspectives.
    • 2 hours of Skill Development in the area of Firearms.
    • 16 hours of Electives (Any of the above-listed core curricula areas.)
    • 1 hour of Racial Profiling training, which typically fits within the Interpersonal Perspectives block of instruction. Racial Profiling training is part of the required 24 hours, not in addition to it.
  • Of the 24 hours that must be earned in calendar year 2017 the following topics have to be covered, but will fit within one of the core curricula areas listed above (Legal, Technical, Interpersonal or Skill). These training topics are part of the 24 hours of required training, not in addition to it.
    • 2 hours on Officer well-being, including mental health awareness;
    • 2 hours on Fair and impartial policing practices including implicit bias recognition;
    • 2 hours on Handling persons with mental health and cognitive impairment issues; and
    • 2 hours on Tactical training to include de-escalation techniques, crisis management, critical thinking and social intelligence.
  • Because we are in a period of transition, any peace officer that completes the following training topics in 2016, will not need to complete them in calendar year 2017:
    • Training on Officer well-being, including mental health awareness;
    • Training on Fair and impartial policing practices including implicit bias recognition;
    • Training on Handling persons with mental health and cognitive impairment issues; and
    • Training on Tactical training to include de-escalation techniques, crisis management, critical thinking and social intelligence.
  • Beginning in 2017, peace officers may carry over a maximum of 8 hours of continuing law enforcement education training from one reporting period to the next. So if an officer earns 32 hours of continuing education training in 2017, he/she might only need 16 hours of training in 2018, depending on what additional hours are earned and what hours are still needed.
  • Peace officers licensed in 2017 will not need to complete their continuing law enforcement education training until calendar year 2018.
  • Law enforcement agencies that wish to deliver continuing law enforcement education courses for In-Service credit must submit their courses to the POST Program for preapproval. The form to do this can be found at dps.mo.gov/dir/programs/post/documents/ce3. However, law enforcement agencies no longer have to submit a detailed course lesson plan or a source document with their application. They only need to submit a detailed synopsis or a detailed summary of the course to be delivered, along with the other required documentation such as the instructor’s record, the learning objectives, sample certificate etc. Once approved, a law enforcement agency can then offer In-Service continuing law enforcement education training to officers from any law enforcement agency.
  • Of the 24 hours of annual continuing law enforcement education training required, 22 of those 24 hours can be completed via computer-based training. The remaining 2 hours of Skill Development – Firearms training has to be done through live, hands-on instruction.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact a member of the POST Program by calling 573-751-3409 or via e-mail at [email protected].