August 27, 2010

Missouri awards almost $7 million in drug task force and other grants to fight crime around the state

Awards include almost $1 million in Recovery Act funds to strengthen law enforcement efforts

The Missouri Department of Public Safety announced today that law enforcement agencies across Missouri will share almost $7 million in two separate rounds of grants designed to combat drug-related crimes and strengthen law enforcement efforts.  One round of grants will utilize more than $978,000 from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.
"Strengthening our efforts in the fight against illegal drugs not only helps take criminals off the streets, it reduces the devastating impact that drugs have on our society and makes Missouri's  communities stronger," said Department of Public Safety Director John M. Britt.  "Many of the recipients of these grants are multi-jurisdictional task forces.  These regional efforts are a great way to maximize the impact of these funds.”
A total of $6,790,693 in federal Edward J. Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grants (JAG) is being awarded to 27 multi-jurisdictional drug task forces operated by counties and municipalities; one law enforcement program that coordinates street level efforts in narcotics investigations; one program that responds to clandestine methamphetamine labs and provides important supplies to emergency response personnel; two prosecution and court programs that investigate domestic crimes or crimes against children; and one program that assists the Department of Public Safety develop crime fighting strategy. 
The almost $7 million in grants announced today will allow many of the recipient agencies to keep their specialized drug task force programs at full-strength during tight budget times.
The initiatives receiving a portion of the $6,790,693 include:
·    The North Missouri Drug Task Force in Adair County will receive $241,234; ·    The East Central Drug Task Force in Audrain County will receive $174,507; ·    The Southwest Missouri Drug Task Force in Barry County will receive $226,018; ·    The Community Narcotics Enforcement Team in Bates County will receive $169,259; ·    The North County M.E.G Drug Task Force in Bridgeton will receive $44,400; ·    The Buchanan County Drug Strike Force will receive $380,429; ·    The Lake Area Narcotics Enforcement Group in Camden County will receive $254,996; ·    The Clay County Drug Task Force will receive $460,009; ·    The Mid-Missouri Unified Strike Team and Narcotics Group in Cole County will receive $192,842; ·    The Mineral Area Drug Task Force in Farmington will receive $109,437; ·    The Franklin County Narcotics Enforcement Unit in will receive $106,686; ·    The Combined Ozarks Multi-Jurisdictional Enforcement Team in Greene County will receive $340,944; ·    The NITRO Drug Task Force in Grundy County will receive $67,183; ·    The Drug Abatement Response Team in Jackson County will receive $248,382. ·    The Jackson County Multi-Jurisdictional Drug Task Force will receive $305,294; ·    The Jasper County Drug Task Force will receive $108,722; ·    The Jefferson County Municipal Enforcement Group will receive $223,578; ·    The Kansas City Multi-Jurisdictional Task Force will receive $394,971; ·    The Lafayette County Narcotics Unit will receive $169,267; ·    The Northeast Missouri Narcotics Task Force in Monroe City will receive $282,025; ·    The Mid-Missouri Multi-Jurisdictional Drug Task Force in Morgan County will receive $234,045; ·    The Bootheel Drug Task Force in Pemiscot County will receive $227,556; ·    The Platte County Multi-jurisdictional Enforcement Group will receive $273,494; ·    The Southeast Missouri Drug Task Force in Poplar Bluff will receive $238,568; ·    The St. Charles County Regional Drug Task Force will receive $244,446; ·    The Domestic Violence Investigation Project in the City of St. Louis will receive $31,256; ·    The Metro Multi-Jurisdictional Undercover Drug Program in the City of St. Louis will receive $245,977; ·    The Multi-Jurisdictional Drug Task Force in St. Louis County will receive $230,569; ·    The Clandestine Drug Lab Collections Stations Project of the Missouri Department of Natural Resources will receive $177,061; ·    The Administrative Data Analysis and Problem Identification Project of the Missouri State Highway Patrol will receive $70,730; ·    The Special Investigator of Crimes Against Children Project in Washington County will receive $41,740; ·    The South Central Drug Task Force in West Plains will receive $275,071.


For more information, call 573-751-5432 or e-mail